Champions League

USWNT Olympic roster for Tokyo games

USWNT coach Vlatko Andonovski has named the 18-player roster aiming to win a gold medal at this summer’s Olympic Games in Japan, with all but one of the players called up part of the squad that won the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France.

That fact alone makes this an incredibly experienced group of players and they will be strong favourites to win the competition.

Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, Tobin Heath and Christen Press are the forwards named in the squad. All are over 30, suggesting it could be a last chance for some of them to play at a global international tournament, but they have scored 388 international goals between them.

Houston Dash midfielder Kristie Mewis joins younger sister Sam and is the only player in the squad who wasn’t at the 2019 World Cup.

In accordance with Olympic rules, four players – Jane Campbell, Casey Krueger, Catarina Macario, Lynn Williams – have been named on a reserve list. These players will travel and train with the primary squad in Japan and can be called upon in the event of injury during the tournament.

Goalkeepers: Adrianna Franch (Portland Thorns), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Defenders: Abby Dahlkemper (Manchester City), Tierna Davidson (Chicago Red Stars), Crystal Dunn (Portland Thorns), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns), Emily Sonnett (Washington Spirit)

Midfielders: Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (North Carolina Courage)

Forwards: Tobin Heath (unattached), Carli Lloyd (NJ/NY Gotham), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (unattached), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign)

Reserves: Jane Campbell (GK, Houston Dash), Casey Krueger (DF, Chicago Red Stars), Catarina Macario (MF, Lyon), Lynn Williams (FW, North Carolina Courage).

The USWNT will play back-to-back warm-up games against Mexico in East Hartford, Connecticut in early July, before heading to Japan for group matches against Sweden, New Zealand and Australia.

United States have previously claimed gold medals in 1996, 2004, 2008 and 2012. The ‘99ers generation took home silver in 2000, while a shock quarter-final defeat by Sweden at the last Olympics in 2016 was a first time failing to get a medal of any colour.

For more from Jamie Spencer, follow him on Twitter and Facebook!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button